Marilyn’s Musings Weblog

A Minister’s Wife Just Rambling

Root Touch-Up August 23, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — marilyn4him @ 4:52 pm

I am in the middle of touching up the roots in my hair. I have been coloring my hair for years. As I have told you I am 40 and I have a 21 year old son. When I tell people that they react with mouths dropped open “you don’t look like you have a 21 year old.” They can’t believe I am 40. Well I give the credit to hair color, because if they saw the real color of my hair they would think I was older than 40. I have GRAY hair. My roots now are coming in gray. When they start to show I run out and by color to cover the roots. Isn’t that wonderful! We can look younger longer.

While applying the color to my hair, I got to thinking about sin and how it has a root. The only way to deal with the sin issue in our lives is to find the root cause. Sometimes it is not easy to find the root behind our sin. It could be pride, jealousy, anger, hurt , disappointment, unforgiveness, or even abuse. When we allow satan to take a foothold in our lives the result is usually sin. We need to pray and ask God to expose the root of our sin so we can cover it up with His forgiveness. If we confess our sins He is faithful and just and will forgive our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness. If we are walking in forgiveness and freedom people we see a happier younger you. Don’t let sin get covered over, get to the root of the sin and let God pluck it out. For me unforgiveness has been the hardest to get rid of, kind of like stubborn gray. It takes longer sometimes to process.

 

One Response to “Root Touch-Up”

  1. Wanda Says:

    OUCH! Yes it does.

    Great analogy with the gray hair roots.

    I am working on that sin root daily……where as those gray hairs it’s monthly!

    The daily one is so much harder than the monthly one!


Leave a Reply

