Marilyn’s Musings Weblog

A Minister’s Wife Just Rambling

“Mission Jackson” Having a blast on Tinker Hill!! October 28, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — marilyn4him @ 3:32 am
Tags:

One of the mission projects I participate in at church is called “Mission Jackson”. What we do is go to the housing projects behind the church and have Backyard Bible Club with the kids each Sunday afternoon. This has been a rewarding project. Each Sunday I look forward to seeing the little kids run up to me and give me a big hug. I love to watch them run and play wanting to make sure that I am watching so I can praise them for how good they are doing.

We take the church bus and drive through the projects picking up kids. Some kids are ready and waiting on us, others want to come but their parents won’t let them. They always look so downcast when they can’t come, it just breaks my heart. Then we take them to the end of the street where we all gather together for games, crafts, Bible story and snack. We have almost 40 kids each Sunday. These kids come from some of the worst homes you could imagine, anywhere from poverty striken, to drug dealers, to prostitutes you name it and they have probably seen it. Some of the faces are so sad with little hope in their eyes, others are still so full of life you just want to take them home with you. We have ages ranging from 2 to teens, sometimes we even get a parent to come check us out, when they do we are ready to present the gospel to them.

These kids have a special place in my heart and in my prayers.

We also get lots of help from some Union University students. The kids love to hang out with these guys. I would like to say a special thanks to these guys for their hard work and dedication. Their presence is greatly appreciated by everyone, especially the kids.

 My son Tanner also goes and helps out.

“Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. Mark 10:14

Rebecca with 2 sweet kids

Rebecca with 2 sweet kids

 

One Response to ““Mission Jackson” Having a blast on Tinker Hill!!”

  1. wanda Says:

    Wow! That’s an awesome ministry!

    I understand how that fills up your heart. There’s nothing like it!
    This summer, I went to MissionFuge and loved serving in the Apt. Complex that my team was sent.

    I remember the sad faces when we left….and the many who couldn’t come play because of parents saying no.

    I could do that again and again.


Leave a Reply

