Marilyn’s Musings Weblog

A Minister’s Wife Just Rambling

Buckle Up It’s the Law!!! October 31, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — marilyn4him @ 12:10 am

I was headed down the road minding my own business, when all of sudden. There he was. You know the old saying “watch out for that… cop”, oh well I think it actually says “George, George, George of the jungle watch out for that…..tree… not cop” but oh well you get the idea. Ooooppps it’s was too late he got me.

This cop has another car pulled over when he sees me coming. I noticed he looked at me funny and then got his radio and talked into it. I think what are you looking at me for I am not doing anything wrong so I kept going and I noticed another cop down the road. He gets behind me about 3 cars back. I keep my eye on him and then he turns around. I think whew he wasn’t after me after all. Wrong, the other cop comes up behind the 3 cars behind me and follows us. I get to Birth Choice where I was going and when I turned my signal light on he turns his blue lights on and pulls in behind me. I roll down my window and ask him what I did wrong. I said I was not speeding or anything. He said no you were not, but when I saw you down the road you did not have your seatbelt on. By the time he pulled me over I had my seatbelt on. I had put it on when I saw him looking at me funny…..tooo late. He gave me a $20 fine for not having my seatbelt on. All I can say is guilty.

The Bible tells us to be sure our sins will find us out. My husband has been trying to get me to remember to wear my seatbelt, but I just don’t do it. I told the officer he was going to get me in trouble with my husband, he just laughed. I was so embarrassed to be getting into trouble with the law. I have always considered myself a law abiding citizen. I hate the fact that I was found guilty of not buckling up. The Bible tells us to obey the laws of the land, and I didn’t, so I got caught. I was found guilty.

There are people today who think they are doing nothing wrong and are good enough to get to heaven on their own…wrong.  The Bible says, that all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God and that the wages of those sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life thru Jesus Christ our Lord. So you see we all break God’s law and need forgiveness. Just like my breaking the law by not having my seatbelt on means I am guilty, we are all guilty of breaking God’s law (the 10 commandments) and need to be forgiven for them. I can pay the $20 fine and be forgiven for breaking the law.  Jesus paid your penality for your sins when he died on the cross. All you have to do is have faith that Jesus is the only way to heaven and ask him to forgive all your sins and you can be saved.

 

2 Responses to “Buckle Up It’s the Law!!!”

  1. wanda Says:

    Ouch! That hurts! And it’s embarrassing! Sorry friend. But consider this a lesson! PUT ON THAT STINKIN SEATBELT!

    You wanna get your face rearranged in an accident????
    Stop hopping in and rolling out without that sucker on.
    YOU HEAR ME?

    Great post!

    I talk with people everyday that think they are doing life ok and that why wouldn’t they go to heaven? Sad.
    We all have the great capacity to justify ourselves in everyway.
    Sin isn’t a word we use too often.

  2. Melanie Rosson Says:

    HA! I do believe your sister and neice have been after you for years to buckle up too. God saved your life by having that officer give you a ticket. Love ya!


Leave a Reply

