Marilyn’s Musings Weblog

A Minister’s Wife Just Rambling

Week at a glance November 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — marilyn4him @ 2:24 am

I have tried to find time to blog the last several days and I just have not found the time. When I am at work I think of things to write about, but when I get home I have to cook supper, do laundry, dishes, you know the drill. So I never find time to blog.

I am now home alone for a little while so I decided to catch you guys up in one post…I hope it will not be too long that you won’t want to read it all. This past week I was unusually busy. It seems that everything came at the same time.

Monday     It was a typical day I worked 9-5 and did normal household chores.

Tuesday       I went to Birth Choice where I volunteer counsel from

                   1-5. I had a 15 year old girl that was pregnant. I don’t

                   Know why this upsets me, but it does when a young

                   girl comes in and is happy about having a baby at 15.   

                   I then taught a parenting class and by the time I left it

                   Was 6:30. I then had to rush home and take Tanner to

                   Physical therapy. I had put a roast on before I went to

                   B.C. so at least we had supper. We head back out the

door to go to Dustin’s “Fall Concert”. It was AWESOME

the music was just unbelievable. Dustin is in all the choirs at Union and they all performed. Can you believe I forgot my camera? He looked so handsome in his tuxedo.  They did some very hard pieces and they nailed everyone of them. It was such and incredible night. There was only one damper on the concert and that was because “Soul Force” was outside protesting Union because of there stand on Homosexuals. They were holding candles and singing outside the church. That really upset me. The police were there to keep them in line. What is the world coming to? After the concert Dustin had to change from his tux to shorts and t-shirt and play in his volleyball game. So we head over to Union to watch him play 3 games of Volleyball. His team won!! We get home about 11:30

 

Wed.           I worked from 9-5 came home picked up my husband

                   We went to grab a quick bite to eat before church at

                   6:00. We usually go to the Mexican restaurant on Wed.

                   because Tanner eats at the church with the youth and

we can spend this time together. After that I went to my Bible Study it was the last night for a great study by Priscilla Shirer, Beth Moore and Kay Arthur the study was “Anointed, Transformer, Redeemed”.  The last night was hilarious. If you went to the “Deeper Still Conference” it was the last night when they all 3 got and stage and had a panel. I laughed so hard. Kay was so funny talking about the “S” word. You know what I mean. I am like Beth I was blushing. As soon as my class was over I go help get ready for a big women’s event we are having the next night. I help by stirring chocolate for hours. I just stirred and stirred. The chocolate was used for icing on the brownies that had a candy cane stuck in them and sprinkled with peppermint pieces. They were like suckers. They were delish. I got home about 11:30. I was so tired I fell right to sleep.

 

Thursday    This is usually my day off, but not today. I have a hectic day ahead. I get up and cook breakfast. Get dressed and head to the hospital because one of my girls from my parenting class had her baby. I went to the wrong hospital. I then go to shop for an outfit for the Women’s event. I finally go to the right hospital and visit with M for a while and hold that sweet newborn baby boy. I run from there to the church to help with last minute preparations for the event. I help put a cookbook together for 500 women. I run pick up Tanner from Physical Therapy. Run home and change for the event. I had invited a friend to go with me so I wait on her at the front. We go in and there is close to 500 women trying to balance a plate and drink and mingle to eat. It was quite a challenge for me. There were cute little shops set up that you could browse around. The theme was Christmas it was called “the Gathering”. The place was decorated beautifully. The food was wonderful. The event was kind of like a cross between Oprah and HGTV. They had little decorating tips, stocking stuffer tips, cooking tips, and party hosting tips. This was all done like you were watching a show. After each little show “Jingle Bell Rock” would play and the men dressed as elves came out and gave us a gift. It was lots of fun.

 

Friday          I worked from 9-5. My husband had to work until 9:00 so I decided to take Tanner to the movies to see “Madagascar 2”.  We go to the 6:00 show and we just ate at the movie theatre. We got hotdogs and popcorn. I know very nutritious. It was a lot of fun. When we start to leave the theatre it is raining and I did not have a jacket or umbrella with me. I was thinking “I wish Randy was here so he could go get the vehicle for me”. It made me appreciate my husband a little more. He does usually get the vehicle so I don’t have to get out in the rain. He does a lot of nice things for me like that. He usually gets my gas for me just because I hate to get it. He cranks my Suburban in the mornings when the frost is on the window so I don’t have to. I just really take him for granted sometimes and don’t realize all the little things he does for me, until I have to do it myself. It taught me a lesson in appreciating my husband.

 

Saturday      I had to get up and be at Birth Choice by 10:00 for a Celebration on Life party. This was our 1st one.  The ladies that had their babies who had been a part of our classes were invited to participate. We had refreshments and presented each lady with a gift bag for her and a diaper bag full of stuff for the baby. It was a great time to love all over those babies. One lady said that she was planning to have an abortion but because of Birth Choice she decided to keep her baby and she was so proud to have that baby. It was a great Celebration of Life. When I left there I picked up Tanner and we went to Wal-Mart to get groceries. I come home and put away groceries and clean house the rest of the day. I cooked a big pot of chili for supper. Our Sunday school class was supposed to have a bonfire and chili fellowship, but the weather was nasty so it was cancelled.

 

Sunday        Got up went to church. It was AWESOME as always. I love our church. I love everything about it. The music is wonderful, the preaching is inspiring and we have a great time in Sunday school. Randy my husband teaches our class. We have a great group of people. After church we warm up a bowl of chili. I take a quick nap and it’s off the “Mission Jackson” by 3:00. We had a big BLOCK PARTY for the kids. We had the big blow up slide, piñatas, cake walk, pizza, candy, Bible story and craft. I just love the kids that come. They make my day with their smiles and hugs. Since we were just having business meeting I decided to go home and get some rest before Monday comes back around.

 

Stay Tuned for next week…Dustin has a big debut in Chapel on Wednesday.  He was asked by his professor to compose the music for the whole band to play in chapel.  He composed the music to “Our Church Is One Foundation”. He did a fabulous job. I can’t wait to here the band perform his piece in front of thousands.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Week at a glance”

  1. wanda Says:

    Whew! You’re busy!

    I think about how the empty nest will slow me down….and that gives me energy to keep going!
    I’ll miss having a wild crazy life when my kids grow up and leave!
    Running around doesn’t seem so bad when I look at it from that perspective.

    I really like your take on Friday night…..realizing how much hubby does for you. I can say the same thing. Don does so much for me because he loves me and doesn’t want me to have to do it myself. That’s a great husband!

    Go take a nap!
    Haha!


Leave a Reply

