Marilyn’s Musings Weblog

A Minister’s Wife Just Rambling

The Blessing of Family November 25, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — marilyn4him @ 4:41 pm

Sunday night my niece Mikayla was baptised. She is 7 years old and was brought up hearing about the Lord in church and has asked questions for a while now. She talked to me on several occassions and wanted to know how she could be saved. She knew she wanted to go to heaven when she died. When I talked to her about the ABC’s of salvation she already knew about them from VBS, however she still hesitated in surrendering to Christ. She would get nervous and change the subject. I told her that she needed to Admit to God that she was a sinner, Believe in her heart that Jesus is the son of God who died for our sins and rose again the 3rd day, and Confess that He is Lord and without Him there is NO OTHER WAY to heaven. She understood but just wouldn’t yield. She was afraid of going before the church and have people looking at her. Well, one night her brother, Matthew, who is 12 years old began to talk to her about her need for salvation. This time she said Yes to Jesus and Matthew lead her in a prayer of repentance. I am so proud of Matthew for having a burden for his sisters soul. I am proud that he has a desire for Christ and wanted to share Christ with Mikayla. It is such a precious gift to give someone, the most precious gift of all, eternal life with Christ. I am so proud of you Mikayla for being brave enough to show what Jesus did for you by being baptised.

mikayla-baptism-1

mikayla-baptism

I am so proud of my family. We are a very close family. We actually enjoy spending time together. We may have our little disagreements with one another, but we do not let them come between us. We have always been there for each other no matter what. When Mikayla was baptised ALL of our family was there. I am talking ALL not one was absent. That is a treasure to have a family that is there for each other during the celebrations in  life as well as the hard times. I know that I can count on my family to always be there for me no matter what.

After Mikayla’s baptism we all went to eat to celebrate with her and to celebrate family. I cherish each one of them so much and I am thankful that All of my family has accepted Christ as their personal Savior. That means we can all still hang out in heaven. I hope my family knows how much I love them. I am proud to have each of them as a special part of my life. I pray for them daily. I pray that God would continue to grow them in their walk with Him. That he would bless them, prosper them and use them in a special way for His Kingdom and His Glory.

cottens

Meet My Family! What a Bunch!

What about you are you sharing the love of Christ with anyone? Remember the best gift you can offer someone is a relationship with Jesus. If a twelve year old can do it so can you. What are you waiting for.

As it is written, “How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!”* Rom 10:15

 

One Response to “The Blessing of Family”

  1. Wanda Says:

    Ahhhh, I love it!

    Congratulations, Mikayla!


Leave a Reply

