Marilyn’s Musings Weblog

A Minister’s Wife Just Rambling

Thanksgiving Blessings! November 26, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — marilyn4him @ 5:33 am

I have so much to be thankful for…I have a great, Christian husband who loves me, 3 terrific boys, a very special mom and dad, a wonderful sister and her husband, and two terrific twin brothers and their wives, I have 2 beautiful nieces,  and 3 cool nephews, on top of my family I have some super cool terrific friends. I am double blessed that I get to hang out with all of these people for Thanksgiving. I have already celebrated with my family last Sunday night, and tomorrow I leave for Indiana to hang out with the bestest friend in the world Wander.

Thanks Wander for letting us come and hang out at your house. Thank you for all the hard work you put into having us come. I can’t wait to celebrate Thanksgiving together. This will definetly not be the first time we have been together for Thanksgiving. We started having Thanksgiving together about 10 years ago. We met and became friends when our husbands were in Bible College together at Florida Baptist Theological College in Graceville Florida. We went to the same church. My husband was their Sunday School teacher for a while. Me and Wanda were in the Young Women for Christ group together. We were not a likely pair to become best friends. She was from Florida and I was from Tennessee. She called me a Tennesse Bumpkin, or a Tennessee Hillbilly. I just thought she was a snob. She was one of the “pretty people”. We won’t talk about the bleach blonde hair.  Boy was I wrong about her. She is not a snob she is a very loving and giving person once I got to know her more.  We taught school at the same school “Washington Co. Christian School” and there we became best friends. Her husband would pick my kids up from school and take them to his house until I got home from work. This was over 10 years ago. Our kids were little then and now they are all teenagers. I live in Tennessee and she now lives in Indiana. We have many miles between us, but when we are together it is like we were never apart.

We have had some great times together. When we go to their home the party is on. We just enjoying each others company. We eat, talk and chill, and eat some more. We do some shopping, may go to a movie, and maybe out to eat. Whatever we do it is just great spending time together. Wanda is a gracious host and makes us feel right at home. Her home is warm and cozy. She is also a terrific cook. We do not go hungry while we’re there. She may even cook us up some good ole Turnip Green Soup. It sound gross but it is good stuff. She will not divulge her recipe, she is afraid I will sell it to Cracker Barrel for a $1,000,000.

We have also had several vacations together. We have gone camping at Panama City Beach a couple of times. We went to Cincinnati, Ohio to Kings Island. That was an adventure….that is all I got to say about that. I will not tell you that I threw up in the van. No I won’t. We have gone to Light Up Louisville a few times. Me and Wanda have gone to Women’s Conferences and Southern Baptist Pastor’s Wives Luncheons together. It is great to have a friend that enjoys the same things in life that I do. I friend who shares my passion for family and ministry. I friend that challenges in my walk with the Lord. I love you Wanda and your precious family. 

A friend loves at all times and a brother is born for adversity. Prov. 17:17

The Galloways and the Nelson's

The Galloways and The Nelson

 

3 Responses to “Thanksgiving Blessings!”

  1. wanda Says:

    Awww friend……I’m so lucky to have you! Thank you God for such an amazing best friend!
    I can’t wait to PARTAY this week. As always….we are gonna do some fun stuff!

    Hurry up! I’m ready!

  2. Michelle Says:

    Thank you for your comment! It does sound like you are truly blessed with a wonderful family!

  3. Sorry for the unrelated comment, but you won a giveaway on my blog and I didn’t have a way to contact you.

    http://randomangie.blogspot.com/2008/11/winners-of-one-month-subscription-to.html

    Drop me an email to get your prize!


Leave a Reply

