Marilyn’s Musings Weblog

A Minister’s Wife Just Rambling

Joy to the World December 8, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — marilyn4him @ 2:23 am
Tonight at my church Englewood Baptist Church was our Christmas Night of Praise. The music was AWESOME! Nothing seems to stir my heart more than music. Music takes me into the presence of my Lord and Savior. I feel as though I am actually bowed low in front of the King. I can visualize me on my knees before the One Who is Worthy to be Praised and Adored!!! The choir sang many familiar Carols but with about 300 choir members and the Jackson Symphony to accompany them. The church was packed with an overflow room. It was a wonderful time of worship. One song in particular was very moving “The Little Drummer Boy” as the song was sung, Mary and Joseph and baby Jesus take center stage…a young boy comes down the isle playing his drum…as he leaves a mother brings her drum and places it before the King…then a fireman….a construction worker…and a minister…they each brought their drum to the King. What gift do you have to bring? No matter what your gifts and talents are you can present them to Jesus as an act of worship. He wants your time as an offering to Him. How can you give of your time this Christmas season.
One of the things our Sunday School class is doing is participating in…
This is where we feed the homeless and give them shelter from the cold. We serve them and spend time fellowshipping with them. We are also feeding breakfast to the homeless church called “The Church Without Walls”. This church was formed to reach the homeless in our community.
Our church has many ways to get involved with the community. We give toys to needy children. We minister to the families in the projects behind the church. We take the gospel door to door in Go Visitation. I hope your church goes outside the walls to reach the world for Christ. Share some ways that  your church or family gives at Christmas. I would love to hear your ideas.
What would your drum be that you would lay at the feet of Jesus. Oh, Lord I bring an offering to you!!
 

One Response to “Joy to the World”

  1. wanda Says:

    Sounds beautiful. I love music too.
    I’ll never forget that day at the festival……
    I am still laughing about that.
    You are so funny!

    Have you been to Lysa T’s blog? She’s having a linky giveaway going on this week. Lots of bloggers giving away beautiful Christian gifts.
    Woohoo!


Leave a Reply

