Marilyn’s Musings Weblog

A Minister’s Wife Just Rambling

Computer Crashed February 3, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — marilyn4him @ 5:37 am

 

computer

If you ever check my blogspot then you have noticed I have not posted anything new in a couple of weeks, the reason for that is that my computer up and died on me. We took it to the computer shop where we had it built, and they determined it was the hard drive. Thankfully it was covered under warranty. The bad news is we lost everything that we had…all the word documents, pictures, email addresses, resume’s, work, etc. Now we have to start over and try to gather all the information we lost. Who can even remember what all was on there to begin with. We will not remember it until we need it and then it can not be recalled.

That reminds me of my memory verse challenge that I have joined with Beth Moore and thousands of other Siesta’s. It is not too late for you to join us in memorizing 2 verses a month on the 1st and 15th.

 

Our minds are like a computer that stores up information for us to recall when we need it. That is why it is so important to hide God’s Word in our hearts. We also need to delete the junk that takes up space in our memory that can corrupt the good things that we put in. Sometimes the bad things that we try to forget pop up unsolicited. At times like this we have to take that thought captive and give it to the Lord. We need to be transformed by the renewing of our minds, and we do that by meditating on the Word of God. What we put into our mind is what will come out, just like what we put into our computer is what we can get out. The good thing about the Word of God is that it is living and active and sharper than any two edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow: it judges even the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.  If I hide the word of God in my heart it can not be deleted, I may forget it for a while, but when I need it the most, it can be recalled.

 

2 Responses to “Computer Crashed”

  1. wanda Says:

    Very true! I love this post. I have learned not to rely on what’s in my computer. My heart…..can hold onto something (a verse) forever!

  2. This is the second time, in just a matter of days, that the topic of Scripture memorization has come up. I used to memorize a lot, but have slacked off. Thanks for the wonderful reminder. Great illustrations, too, BTW – comparing our memories to a computer. You are so right!


Leave a Reply

