Marilyn’s Musings Weblog

A Minister’s Wife Just Rambling

We got about a foot of Snow!!! March 2, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — marilyn4him @ 12:00 am

 

snow-0732

Here is a picture of my house with the snow. The ruler is on top of the car.

We have not seen snow like this in about 20 years. The last time Dustin was a baby and I had to walk in a foot of snow down the hill to Randy’s parents because we didn’t have a phone and the snow hit while Randy was at work. He was already about two hours late. I bundled Dustin up and put him in the baby carrier that you wear on your back and trucked down the hill about 1/4 a mile. As I started down the hill Randy pulled into his parents driveway. I was so relieved to see him.

My first memory of the snow was when I was in first grade, we were sitting in class and it started to snow. The teacher let everyone get up to see it. Then she told us all to sit down so we could get back to work. Well, when they all sat down, I jumped up so I could see the snow. I could not see it good while everyone else was looking out. You will not believe what happened next. My teacher gave me a paddling. I was devastated. I told her, all I wanted to do was see the snow. That was one of very few paddling I ever got. Today, when I see my teacher I tease her about paddling me for looking at the snow. She says she felt so bad after that. She still regrets it. I told her not as much as I did.

We made good use of the snow today. We took Dustin to play disc golf for the first time. It was quite a bit more challenge in a foot of snow. Our disc would get burried and we spent lots of time looking for them. We lost two disc that we never found. We had a lot of fun it took us 3 hours to play. We were cold, tired and hungry by the time we finished.

Here are a few more snow pictures.

snow-072

snow-056

snow-0831

 

2 Responses to “We got about a foot of Snow!!!”

  1. wanda Says:

    Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow! Isn’t it fun? I love the snow.
    I think it’s beautiful. It makes everything look clean and fresh.
    I’m so happy that it covered your town. I know how much you guys love it too.
    Miss you!

  2. Beautiful pictures. Amazing pictures! How sad that you have the memory of being paddled for looking at snow. I can see why the teacher regretted it. Such impressionable hearts children have, and how easily wounded. What a lesson for us adults as we relate to children now, huh? Sweet post.


Leave a Reply

