Marilyn’s Musings Weblog

A Minister’s Wife Just Rambling

Pride Goeth Before The FALL!!! March 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — marilyn4him @ 8:17 pm

As the old proverb goes, “Pride goeth before the fall”. Well I got an up close and literal version of the truth from the proverb. You see, I was playing disc  golf with my husband and son on Saturday morning and I was angry with my husband for hurrying me to leave and didn’t take me to get any caffeine. I am addicted to caffeine in the morning. Anyway, he had to be at work by 11:00 and he decides around 8:30 that if we hurry we can get in another game of disc golf. Since we discovered the game only a little over a week ago he has been addicted. He has played 5 days already, we even played 45 holes on Thursday. He rushes me to hurry up and get ready so we can play before he goes to work. I hurry. I tell him that we need to stop and get some breakfast on the way. He says, he will be fine eating a bowl of cereal. So he does. I am getting ready and by the time I get ready I don’t have time for cereal, or caffeine. He hands me a granola bar to eat. That was fine, but where is my caffeine? He then proceeds to the golf course. I am getting angrier and angrier as we get closer because he has not stopped to get me any caffeine. He is in “CONQUER MODE”. We get there and he has NO IDEA why I am mad at him. I know I was a little selfish, but you don’t mess with my morning caffeine. We began to play and I am ignoring him and giving him the cold shoulder. He acts like nothing ever happened. I do tell him why I am upset. He continues to try to act as if nothing happened, which makes me even more angry. We continue to play. The course is tough. We trapes though the woods going up and down steep hills, in ditches and on slick ground. We are headed down a hill that is slippery. Randy reaches out his hand to me and I refuse like I had all morning. I had my nose in the air and my shoulders back determined I didn’t need his assistance. Boy was I wrong. As soon as I refused his hand my feet fly out from in under me and I landed hard on my bottom. I was in instant pain. I still am. Randy helps me up and tries to console me. I soften a little. I then said, now I understand what the proverb means, “Pride goeth before the fall”. I should have taken your hand. I let my pride get in the way and I fell hard. It is a lesson I will not soon forget. I laughed at myself and took Randy’s hand the rest of the day. I did finish the game, in pain.

I also learned another lesson from that fall. I realized that the LORD always has his hand stretched out to me to guide me through the course of life, to keep me from falling, and just like I did with Randy I let my pride keep me from taking His very capable hand. God knows the way I should go. Why do I not hold his hand and allow Him to lead me. I want so much to hold his hand and never let go. I know He will never let go of me, because He says in his word, I will never leave you or forsake you. Thank you Lord for always being there for me holding out your hand to me. May I always take it!!!!

As I searched the word “hand” in the Bible there were 364 references, but here are a few that spoke to me.

 

I follow close behind you; your strong right handholds me securely. Ps. 63:8

 

Yet I still belong to you; you are holding my right hand. Ps. 73:23

 

Even there your hand will guide me, and your strength will support me. Ps. 139:10

 

Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you. I will help you. I will uphold you with my victorious right hand. Is. 41:10

 

Pride [goeth] before destruction, and an haughty spirit before a fall. Prov. 16:18

 

2 Responses to “Pride Goeth Before The FALL!!!”

  1. I am touched by your humility, blessed by your determination to do what is right, impressed with your submission to hubby. And I’m amazed that you ONLY tended to your own need for repentance.

    If I was his sister, I would be in your husband’s face, pointing my finger and telling him he also owed you an apology, for his insensitivity and unwillingness to tend to your needs. Alas, I’m not his sister. Wait! Yes, I am! …in the Lord… so you can tell him I said he needs to read this! 🙂

    After living with only guys for 29 years, I must admit your precious hubby was acting very male, so maybe I could cut him a little slack. …Still, I could quote Scripture about how he is supposed to treat you…

  2. wanda Says:

    J E R K !!

    What was he thinking? Oh yea…he was thinking about getting to his newest addiction….disc golf! haha.

    You guys are so funny!

    I’m constantly reminded too….thank you Holy Spirit for keeping my will in check!
    🙂


Leave a Reply

