Marilyn’s Musings Weblog

A Minister’s Wife Just Rambling

I Need A Revelation! April 6, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — marilyn4him @ 6:19 pm

It seems that my life has been in limbo for several years now. I just have not been settled. My husband has been a pastor for over 25 years. He has pastored around 7 churches. For the most part we have had a great ministry. We have been instrumental in leading many to the Lord and encouraging Christians to have a closer walk with the Him. We have had the privilege of doing Mission work both at home and foreign. Well, the past two years Randy has not pastored a church. We were terribly wounded by the past two churches. I won’t go into any details, but I will tell you we have had to recover from the blows we received. Thank the Lord we have been nurtured and fed spiritually by our church, Englewood Baptist Church. I love this church and I am greatful to be a member of it. I am very involved with Missions. Randy teaches Sunday School and is a Yokefellow. Why then do I feel so unsettled. I feel like  we are suppose to be somewhere else….but where. I need a revelation from God. I do not want to move until He moves me. I don’t want to stay if he says go. This song by Third Day sums up my heart.

Jeremiah 29:11 has been one of my all time favorite verses, it says…I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not harm, plans to give you a hope and a future. I want God’s plan for my life. My hearts desire is to be in the center of His will. Pray for our family as we seek God’s plans for our future. This will be a year of change as Dustin graduates college and moves to St. Louis and Cody transfers to Murray State….where will we be?????

 

3 Responses to “I Need A Revelation!”

  1. I can really relate! I think one of the most heart-shattering things that can happen to a believer is to be wounded by those who are supposed (underlined) to be our support system. The circumstances you metioned, together with the start of an empty nest, are two very, very unsettling places in life. When we’re used to being in full-time ministry (as was I, also, at one time), it is so difficult to simply rest in the Lord; we’re so inclined to be “doing.” It’s hard to “be still.” It’s hard to wait on Him. It’s easy to feel that we have no worth or value unless we’re busy serving. It can even be downright frightening. I won’t try to give you a bunch of pat answers. But my heart is with you and I pray the Lord will pour out His grace on you – in abundance – during this time of uncertainty.

  2. wanda Says:

    My dear friend….it hurts! You and I have walked some lonely streets together in this ministry life. We may never know the “whys”. I still today, cannot figure out what it is that God is leading me towards. But I’m like you…..I want a revelation! I don’t want to do anything outside of His perfect will for me or my family.
    Keep your fire. He’s not finished with you. No way! He knows.

  3. Larry Who Says:

    Okay, when you ask for a revelation from God, sometimes, you are stuck with guys like me…who have big mouths.

    You have a calling on your life and it is not doing missions at a local church. As a young girl, you had dreams (or visions) of traveling the world, preaching and teaching the word of God. But sadly, you are a woman…and most women in your section of the Body of Christ take a backseat to men.

    So, you laid the dream down.

    But God has a great memory and He is now stirring that dream up once again in you. So, it’s up to you? What are you going to do?

    Maria Woodworth Etter was stuck with the same problem as you have. Eventually, she obeyed God and her exploits are still bearing fruit almost a hundred years later.

    It’s up to you. Seek God and ask Him to rekindle the dream in you.


Leave a Reply

