Marilyn’s Musings Weblog

A Minister’s Wife Just Rambling

Road Trip!! April 26, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — marilyn4him @ 9:27 pm

road-trip

Yesterday, Cody wanted me to take a road trip with him and Jessica to check out his new college. He wanted me to get a feel of the campus and to check out his new apartment.  I have not been thrilled with his decision to leave Union to go to Murray State. I knew that while he was at Union he would not be taught things that were contrary to our Christian beliefs and values. It was a safe environment for him to learn in. Not that everyone at Union is Christian they are not, but the professors are Christians. When you go to the book store at Union, it is a Lifeway store and awesome place to hang out. I love to browse around Lifeway and check out there new selection of books. We went to the book store at Murray and there were not many if any Christian books. It was a portrait of the world around us. I did not spend any time in the store at all. I did not find anything that held my interest. It was just another sign that he is no longer in a Christian environment, but a worldly one. He is excited about his new adventure. I wish I could share that excitement. Murray has a nice campus and it is a nice town to live in. I pray that God will work in his life to be a witness to those around him.

We had a funny experience when we started to walk onto campus, someone had written in chalk Cody Nelson is 20 today in huge letters in two different locations. It was not my Cody. Cody will be 20 in a few days. So that means there are 2 Cody Nelson’s at Murray almost the same age. It was just too funny.

We left Murray and went to eat at Patti’s our favorite restaurant, but it had a 4 hour wait. It was prom night and Patti’s would be a prom paradise. It has such beautiful scenery with a waterwheel, and gorgeous flowers, and gazebo’s to take pictures of the couple in their prom outfits.

We then went on to Paducah to check out the Outback where Cody plans to transfer. It was a 40 minute drive from there to Murray.

We got home late last night, and I had a list a mile long of things I needed to accomplish. Oh, well I was glad I got to spend some time with Cody before he moves off to Murray. I will miss him. I have decided it is time to let go, and let God. It is easier said than done. This mom likes to hold on as long as she can. Life will not be the same without my boys around. I will miss all the jokes, and laughter.  It will definitely be quieter and cleaner, but not near as much fun.

 Cody and Jessica aren’t they cute.

 

One Response to “Road Trip!!”

  1. wanda Says:

    Oh sister! I pray you will adjust in a way that is best for all. I am feeling that same “mama” pull myself.
    If you can…..look for exciting new things that can occupy your future time.
    Life has a way of moving us along, doesn’t it? Whether we want to or not. 🙂

    I am so proud of your boys! I know that Dustin will soar..and Cody needs to stretch his wings too. Just you wait and see. It will be awesome!


Leave a Reply

