Marilyn’s Musings Weblog

A Minister’s Wife Just Rambling

Smoky Mountain Vacation May 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — marilyn4him @ 2:34 am

Day 1: Me, Tanner, my sister Melanie, Matt, and Mikayla get up at 5:00 a.m. and head out for the mountains. We drive separate vehicles because she is staying 3 extra days. The boys start out with me and Mikayla is with Mel. We have walkie talkies to communicate back and forth as well as cell phones. It rains on us most of the way there. I have to make several pit stops due to overactive bladder. We get within 5 or 6 miles from the condo and I have a major tire blowout. As we are figuring out what to do a policewoman stops to assist us. She calls a tow truck to come and change the tire for us, $60.00 later we are back on the road. We unpack and check out the condo then head to the pool. We stocked up on groceries and relaxed for a bit.

Smoky Mountain Vacation 003

Smoky Mountain Vacation 008

Smoky Mountain Vacation 010

Day 2: We get up and go to the NASCAR Speedpark. Melanie had 4 rain out tickets from 2007. We spent the day racing around the different go-kart tracks, riding the tilt-a-whirl, scrambler, and we played a game of putt-putt.Mikayla had old timer photos made. She got so hot she almost passed out. She said she was dizzy and couldn’t see. I rushed her inside where it was cool and got her some water. She came around. We went back to the condo for lunch and we took a nap. We go back for some more racing. The kids all tried climbing the rock climbing wall. Mikayla was the first one to conquer it. She was able to conquer 3 of the 4 walls. Matt also conquered 3 of the 4 walls. Tanner was persitent in trying, but his big hands and feet(size 18 4E) gave him a challenge. Tanner and Matt raced in the simulator cars. Matt won the race. Tanner had fun wrecking. After being there all day it began to rain around 9:00 at night. I couldn’t believe they gave us rain out tickets…woo hoo. We eat at Applebees and call it a night.

Smoky Mountain Vacation 025

 

 

Smoky Mountain Vacation 043

Smoky Mountain Vacation 021

Smoky Mountain Vacation 034

Day 3: We enjoy a big country breakfast at Flapjacks. Since we had rainchecks for the NASCAR Speedpark the boys go back for another day of go-kart racing. There were 8 different tracks to chose from. We leave the boys there and Me, Mel, and Mikayla go shopping. We go to the Christmas Place first. Melanie gets all of hers and her friends ornaments for their Christmas swap. They were really cool ornaments that were personalized.We check in on the boys and watch them race a few races. Mikayla gets to ride free with Matt for a couple of races.  We then go to the Tanger Outlet mall across the road from the speedpark. We start out at the bra outlet. We get sized and try on tons of bras. I finally choose one and Mel gets 2. This is something you can only do without guys around. We go get the boys for Tanner to try on shoes. No luck. We go to Mr. Gheti’s pizza place for supper. It was not very good. We go back to the speedpark for a while longer and watch the boys race and rock climb. Mikayla gets to ride a few more times. Melanie still has 3 rainchecks for later. We cruise the trip of Pigeon Forge then we go back to the condo for the night. I enjoyed a long soak in the jaccuzzi tub.

Smoky Mountain Vacation 035

Smoky Mountain Vacation 024

Smoky Mountain Vacation 039

Mikayla & Mel @ The Christmas Place

Mikayla & Mel @ The Christmas Place

Day 4: We decided to go to Gatlinburg before I head home. Melanie talks me into riding the Sky Lift. I am terrified of hights, but I thought I could handle it. I ask these two sweet old ladies at the ticket booth if they thought I would be ok on the ride since I am scared of heights. They say sure it is not bad at all. Let me tell you don’t trust sweet looking old ladies they will lie to you. I am fine going up the lift. Mikayla rides with me. She is holding my flip flops and halfway up she drops it. oops. I was so excited that I made it to the top. We get off and go to the lookout spot where you can see forever and take beautiful pictures of the mountain….not. I can’t get close enough to take pictures. I am shaking so bad I have to go set down. I start crying hysterically. I call my husband crying and saying, “I am on top of a mountain and I can’t get down, I don’t know what I am going to do”. He prays with me and tries to calm me down. He calls back and says he found someone to drive me down off the mountain and gives me the guys phone number. I am telling him no I will get my courage up to ride down. How I don’t know. I pray. I quote scripture. The kids are telling me God will take care of me, not to worry. It thunders. I tell myself I have to get off the mountain before it storms. The guy working the lift tells me he will make sure my chair doesn’t move so I can get in. Finally, a peace comes over me and I am able to get on the lift. I close my eyes at first, and then I open them and I was fine all the way down. Mikayla holds my hand all the way down. About half way through the ride down it pours down rain. You may ask if I would do it again. I would have to say… maybe. We leave Gatlinburg and go to the condo for me to pack up and drive home. Me and Tanner are on our own this time. We stop in Lebanon at the outlet looking for him some shoes. He wears an 18 so it is sooo hard to find shoes. The Nike Outlet had some size 18 shoes, but they were not wide enough. We eat at Steak-N-Shake and get home about 9:00 p.m. I crashed.

Tanner on top of the mountain
Tanner on top of the mountain
Mel getting off sky lift.

Mel getting off sky lift.

Tanner & Matt on sky lift.

Tanner & Matt on sky lift.

P.S. Melanie just called and said she went back to the lift and they had my flip flop…yippee!

 

2 Responses to “Smoky Mountain Vacation”

  1. wanda Says:

    OH MY GOSH!!!! You are so funny!

    I cannot believe you! I love how Randy always has some kind of back-up plan just sitting right there. He should have been named McGyver!

    🙂

    Sounds like a ton of fun……the whole trip!

  2. Marilyn Says:

    I have always called him McGyver!!! He is my night and shining armor.


Leave a Reply

