Marilyn’s Musings Weblog

A Minister’s Wife Just Rambling

Relay for Life August 14, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — marilyn4him @ 5:06 pm

 

Relay

I can not believe that it has been a year since the last “Relay for Life”, which also means that it has been a year since I began blogging. I remember that one of my first posts was about my dad’s cancer and the “Relay for Life” event. I looked up my first post and it was on 8-2-08….Wow, I have been blogging over a year.

This year my sister, Melanie, was the Co-Sponser for Lawrence County’s “Relay for Life”. She worked hard all year raising money to help fight cancer. She inlisted my help on a few occassions. I did very little compared to her hard work. I helped work the Old Time Picture fundraiser and I helped work the games for kids at the “Relay for Life Rally”.

We got involved with “Relay for Life” last year when our dad almost died from kidney cancer. Thank the Lord he is now a cancer survivor. It was great to watch him take the victory lap along with the other survivors.

Melanie had to stay from 6:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m. She got up early that morning to get the stage ready and make sure all the preparations were ready for the big event and stayed until it was over the next morning. I arrived about 5:00 p.m. and stayed until about 11:30 p.m. My parents came for the opening ceremony and because of their health were not able to stay very long.

It was a good turn out from the community. The candlelight ceremony is one of my favorite parts of the whole event. It is a time to reflect on the ones who have lost their battle to cancer and to celebrate the ones who have won their battle of cancer.It is a quiet and surreal time as you walk a lap and look at the bags with names of those who have been affected by cancer. I chose to pray for the families that were represented by each bag. Not only was our dad affected by cancer but both of my grandfathers died of cancer. Melanie had made a bag to represent each one of them.

The event was a huge success. There was lots of good food to eat, and games for the kids. We were entertained by several local bands and the St. Johns Methodist Choir. One of the funniest moments of the evening was when the men came out on the stage decked out in their dresses and make up to compete in the Womenless Beauty Contest.  I will say that men do not make pretty women. The men worked the crowd to see who get the most donations. It was a riot. I think the ugliest man won…he had a full beard…yuck! Michael Jackson and Madonna also made an appearance. My nephew, Matthew, was Michael Jackson and he did a great job representing Michael and the moonwalk. All in all it was a great event and we raised $65,000 to help fight cancer.

Thanks Melanie for your hard work and dedication.

 

One Response to “Relay for Life”

  1. wanda Says:

    WOw…..That is incredible!

    Relay for Life is HARD work!

    Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

