Marilyn’s Musings Weblog

A Minister’s Wife Just Rambling

Flown the Coop August 17, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — marilyn4him @ 6:48 pm

My middle son, Cody, moved out on his own on Saturday. We loaded down our suburban and his car with all of his belongings and headed to Murray, Kentucky. Cody and his best friend Preston rented an apartment close to Murray State. It was a nice apartment. They have a living room, kitchen, laundry area, and two bedrooms and two baths. They were so excited to be there. They unpacked the vehicles and started unpacking their new kitchen dishes and cookware. Cody ran a sink of water and washed all the dishes while Preston dried. It was so funny to watch them be so particular about where they wanted to put things. We stayed and helped unpack for a while. We got to meet Prestons parents. We all went to lunch at AppleBee’s. They left after lunch, but we stayed until later in the evening. We took them to Wal-Mart to get the last minute things they needed to make their home complete. It was hard to drive off and leave Cody behind. We hugged and kissed and said our “I love you’s”. I was proud for him since he was so excited, but I knew our family life would not be the same as it once was.

I pray Lord that you will watch over Cody and keep him in your capable hands. You love him even more than I do and want to do great things in and through him. Lord guide him in his studies and help him to be able to discern the truth and not be deceived in any way. Thank you for choosing me to be Cody’s mom. He has a special place in my heart. I pray that you will keep us close even though we are apart.

Murray

 

One Response to “Flown the Coop”

  1. wanda Says:

    That is so cool!
    I remember my first place! It is the greatest feeling!

    Good luck Cody! I pray God blesses you there at Murray!


Leave a Reply

