Marilyn’s Musings Weblog

A Minister’s Wife Just Rambling

Remembering 9/11 September 11, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — marilyn4him @ 6:40 pm

I can remember 9/11/01 like it was yesterday. I was teaching a class at the Department of Human Services. That day I was going to show a video, so I turned the TV on to put in the video. As soon as I did there was a news flash with breaking news from New York. They were showing the first tower after it was hit. As we looked on the next plane flew into the second tower. We sat their in stunned silence. I was horrified. I didn’t know what was going on. I thought maybe we were at war. I also thought the end was near. We continued to watch as both buildings collapsed into a pile of rubble. Then, to our disbelief another plane was hijacked and flew into the Pentagon.   Even though I had a government job, I began to share the gospel with these grief stricken mom’s. I dismissed the class for the day. I went back to my office and called Randy and the boys to make sure they were ok. I told them to turn on the TV and see what was going on. All day I felt shocked. As news continued to follow about the many men and women who lost their lives I was saddened even more.

I was also proud of the men and women who worked diligently to rescue the survivors. Thank you to our President for his quick response in defending our freedoms. Thanks to the policemen and firemen who risked their own lives, and to the many volunteers who worked hard to help bring any relief they could. Thank God for His sovereignty and peace during a time of pain and suffering. Father may you continue to comfort the ones who lost loved ones on that horrible day. May you bring your peace to America! 

II Chron. 7:14 Then if my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, I will hear from heaven and forgive their sins and heal their land.

 

Leave a Reply

