Marilyn’s Musings Weblog

A Minister’s Wife Just Rambling

Great Shopping Day! September 13, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — marilyn4him @ 12:55 am

I am not what you would call a shopper. I don’t really enjoy shopping. One thing is I never find anything I like when I am actually looking to buy, and another is I find things I like when I don’t have the money.

I am a clearance rack shopper when I do need to buy new clothes. Since I am starting a new job in a couple of weeks, I decided I better go shopping for some new clothes. I am working overtime for a couple of weeks, so I decided I could use that money to treat myself to some new clothes. The job I have now I don’t have to dress up since I am the only one in the office. However, my new job is at our church and I need to dress more professionally. My new title is Administrative Assistant to the Minister of Students.

While I was on my way to the mall I prayed and asked the Lord to help me find some clothes that I would actually like and for some good bargains. That is exactly what He did. I started out shopping at Sears since my husband works there and we get 20% off. I found 3 pair of pants and 2 tops here all of which were 75-90% off. I then got 20% more off. WOW!! It was only $58.00. Then I went to JC Penny’s and found a pants suit on the 75% off rack. After that I went to Macy’s to look at some perfume I have wanted since last Christmas. My friend Kim works in the perfume department. She told me that they were having a huge sale on the perfume, for the same price as the perfume only I got the perfume, lotion, and bath gel, also a little bag with another bottle of perfume, lotion and bath gel. I went ahead and splurged. I thought I could give the second gift set as a Christmas gift. That way mine was “free”. I was so excited.

Shopping 001

Shopping 002

I started feeling guilty since I hadn’t bought for anybody but myself. So I checked out the men’s clearance racks at Penny’s. I got Randy a pair of suit pants that were $100 on sale for $19.97….amazing. I found Dustin a pair of dress pants that were $50 on sale for $9.97. I went back to Sears to look for a shirt and found Dustin a shirt that was reg. $42 on sale for $7.99 and I got 20% off.

Shopping 003

Shopping 004

I may become a shopper after all. It felt so good to get some new clothes and to save $430 at the same time. I didn’t even spend $200 it would have been $636…..can’t beat that. I give all the praise to God for hearing my prayer and answering it.

I will answer them before they even call to me. While they are still talking about their needs, I will go ahead and answer their prayers!~ Isaiah 65:24

 

3 Responses to “Great Shopping Day!”

  1. wanda Says:

    Wow! Looks like you hit the jackpot!
    I’m so excited for you!
    Lots of good changes happening! God is sooooo good!
    I love you and miss you!

  2. I so appreciate the way you look to the Lord for, and about, everything. I suspect He loves it as well. I’m thrilled with the way He has blessed you!

  3. wanda Says:

    It’s time to get your ping-pong playing booty busy blogging!
    YOU HEAR?

    We need to be in Nashville next week! Remember the Leadership Training? It’s next week!

    Boohoo! We aren’t going to be there.

    Tons of bloggers will be there as well. Bigmama and Boomama!

    Not to mention the list of Bible study author’s that we adore!
    Sniff sniff!
    It makes me cry!


Leave a Reply

